The World Before Bach

The World Before Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach is perhaps the most towering figure in music history. Ever since Felix Mendelssohn revived his works, Bach has never ceased to be with us. From his Passions to The Art of Fugue to his famous “Air”, Bach is so widely admired and beloved that it is...
Récréation musicale

Récréation musicale

Grace, audacity and invention French virtuoso music for violin, viola and continuoThe trio sonata is one of the most popular forms of the Baroque period. It is generally composed of three parts: two upper instruments in solo roles (violins, flutes, oboes) accompanied...
The Musical Theatre of Telemann

The Musical Theatre of Telemann

Telemann was a master of the French style. As the prolific composer wrote in his autobiography, “I set out to look for the work of Lully, Campra and other good masters, almost exclusively in their style, so that in two years I had no less than two hundred Overtures.”...
Bach for Two Harpsichords

Bach for Two Harpsichords

Probably played by Bach and his sons in the friendly surroundings of the Café Zimmermann, the concerti for two harpsichords are both jubilant and learned works. Johann Sebastian Bach’s music is a testament to a fundamental synthesis in the Baroque period:...
Metamorphosis

Metamorphosis

Ovid’s Metamorphoses were the source of inspiration for many compositions in the Baroque period. Ensemble Masques, accompanied by the actor and director Julien Campani and three circus artists, illustrates these transformations in music and movement. Together,...

Le Monde avant Bach

Le Monde avant Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach est certainement l’un des plus importants compositeurs de l’histoire de la musique. Depuis que Felix Mendelssohn a tiré de l’ombre ses plus grandes pages, il n’a jamais cessé d’être parmi nous. Que ce soit dans les lignes de ses Passions, de son...
Récréation musicale

Récréation musicale

Grâce, audace et invention Musique virtuose française pour violon, viole et basse continue La sonate en trio est l’une des formes les plus populaires de l’époque baroque. Elle est généralement composée de trois parties : deux instruments de dessus dans des rôles...
Bach à deux clavecins

Bach à deux clavecins

Probablement joués par Bach et ses fils dans cadre amical du Café Zimmermann, les concerti pour deux clavecins sont des œuvres à la fois jubilantes et savantes. La musique de Jean Sébastien Bach est le témoignage d’une synthèse fondamentale dans l’époque...
Le Grand Tour

Le Grand Tour

Le Grand Tour était, au XVIIIe siècle, une manière en vogue pour les jeunes aristocrates européens d’acquérir un éventail de points de vues et d’idées en voyageant à travers l’Europe.

Bach : ouvertures – suites

Bach : ouvertures – suites

Beaucoup d’œuvres de Bach ont connu plus d’une incarnation, et ses ouvertures-suites ne font pas exception. Elles furent sans doute jouées à l’époque comme des oeuvres de chambre, avec un musicien par partie.